Davis and Deyoe Family History

The Genealogy of Lester and Eleanor Davis

 Nancy Hanks Lincoln Cemetery, Lincoln City, Spencer County, Indiana, USA

Latitude: 38.12132317831781, Longitude: -86.99712753295898

Nancy Hanks Lincoln Cemetery is located in Lincoln City, Spencer County, Indiana, USA.
Nancy was a Virginia native, moving to Kentucky where she met and married her husband Thomas Lincoln. She gave birth to three children. The Lincoln's moved to Spencer County in southern Indiana in 1816 and constructed a cabin on Little Pigeon Creek. She soon took ill and struggled between life and death for a week. She passed away a mere two years after arriving in Indiana. Her husband Thomas constructed a coffin from pine cut from the property. He took the body via a sled to a nearby pioneer hill-top cemetery near the Lincoln farm. There was no religious cleric in the region so with Thomas Lincoln, his children and a few neighbors, Nancy Lincoln was interred without a formal religious service. The grave has endured a perilous trip to the present time. Other graves in the tiny cemetery, as well as that of Nancy's were lost. Finally a family friend, erected a marker in an approximate location. Over the years, the site has been vandalized and allowed to become over grown with trees and brush. Only when the fame of her son President Lincoln was established, was a concerted effort made to preserve the grave location. Life was hard in the wilderness and a man with children could not remain without a wife for long. Thomas Lincoln quickly remarried. Abraham Lincoln was nine at the time of his mother's death.


 Thumb Description Status Location Name (Died/Buried)
Burial place for Nancy Hanks
Burial place for Nancy Hanks
Interred in the Nancy Hanks Lincoln Cemetery, on the grounds of Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial, in what is now known as Lincoln City, Spencer County, Indiana, USA. 
Not yet located    Nancy HANKS (d. 5 Oct 1818)

This site powered by The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding ©, v. 10.1.0 alpha 2, written by Darrin Lythgoe 2001-2018.